Your new character appears at that point and may join normally in the combat, though you will get no new cards until someone gives you Charity, you get cards as payment for helping in a combat, or your next turn starts. I had Cheat! I tried to play another card that took Hands and my friend said that I couldn't because the Cheat! Is he right? The easiest way to think about Cheat!
If you have the Cheat! Once you perform the initial cheat, the card cannot be moved to another Item. So if something happens to make the cheated Item legal for you. Can I use the Cheat! No and no. The Cheat! In other words, a second piece of Headgear, a second Big item for non-Dwarves , an Item that requires a Hand or two when your other two are full, or the Bow With Ribbons for non-Elves.
You have to have the Item already, and cannot use the Cheat! By a strict reading of the text on the Cheat! If my only small Item has a Cheat! Nice try, but no. If an item has been cursed e. If the curse has added a negative effect to the item, a Cheat!
The Deluxe versions each include a folding gameboard that tracks all the players' Levels and has spaces for Door and Treasure decks and discards. They also come with either plastic pawns older sets or cardboard standies newer sets for each player. If I announce I'm going to do something, am I locked into that decision or can I change my mind? For instance, I was a Wizard and declared that I was going to fight a monster, but then the monster was enhanced further.
Can I change my mind and Charm it? However, there are no "take-backs" once you have played a card or rolled a die. If I have two separate cards that both let me roll a die in the same situation say both let me avoid a Curse does one take precedence over the other? Pick the one that gives you the best outcome and roll a die. If you fail that roll, try with the next ability you have.
You can keep trying as long as you have the abilities to do so. The art on a card shows a weapon being wielded with two hands, but the card says it only takes one hand. Do I go by the art or the card? Go by the text. If the card says it is a 1 Hand item, it is a 1 Hand item, even if the card art shows it with two hands. Is the initial sex of a character the same as the sex of the player, or can it be chosen? The rules say the player chooses their starting sex, and that it defaults to the same as the player's if not otherwise specified.
We do recognize that these rules assume strict binary gender. If that makes the game less fun for you and your friends, feel free to ignore gender completely.
I was playing in a tournament and my opponent said she was female. She sure looked male to me! What is the rule in this situation? If your opponent said she was female, that's good enough for us. We recommend using either Deluxe sets or a Level Playing Field in all tournament games so there is no possible confusion.
Can I still play them? If I do, does it change my sex? They have no effect on your in-game sex. If I'm told to draw two cards and keep one but discard the other and one of the cards has an immediate effect does that effect go off? Only if that's the card you keep. When you are told to decide between cards to keep and discard, the effects of the kept card will go off immediately once you decide that that is the card you are keeping. Otherwise the card you discarded was never in play and never took effect.
When do we resolve cards? As they are played, or once everyone says they're done playing them? As they are played. Some games have a "stack" mechanic, where all cards are resolved at once. Munchkin is not one of them. A card I played says to "roll a die. If it doesn't specify a particular die or tell you that you can roll any die you want, roll the six-sided die that comes with the game or any other standard six-sided die, if you have several of them within reach.
If someone makes me help him with the Kneepads of Allure, can I backstab him, play cards against him, etc. You bet. You're required to join the combat, not to try to win. I hate the Kneepads of Allure. I think they unbalance the game. There are several possibilities. As long as the person you force to help you can make the difference between winning and losing per Help Me Out Here 's requirements , you most definitely can. Don't expect anyone to like you afterward. For purposes of Help Me Out Here , "winning" means beating the monster's combat strength.
The Item you take must raise your combat strength enough to beat the monster's or, as with the Kneepads , immediately lead to that situation. You cannot use Help Me Out Here if you are already winning, you cannot use it to take an Item that isn't strong enough to put you over the monsters, and you cannot use it to take an Item that doesn't change your combat strength.
What happens to a Level 1 Thief who fails an attempt to steal? Does he die? Nothing happens to him. You can't go below Level 1. Beware the Level 1 Thief — he literally has nothing to lose! Can a Thief steal something while he is in combat? He's preoccupied. They're preoccupied. Can a Thief steal from someone while neither he nor his victim is in combat, but someone else is?
Can a Thief backstab himself? It would be very munchkinly, but the card specifically says "another player. I have just drawn Divine Intervention face down. What happens now? As the card says, no matter how it is drawn, all Clerics go up a level immediately. Show the card, and, if you are a Cleric, play the card in glee. Otherwise, play the card with disgust to show your contempt for those lucky people who are. What happens if a player gets Divine Intervention in his opening hand? The player should show the card immediately.
All players who can become Clerics may choose to do so and go up a level. That's munchkinly thinking, but sorry, that's a max three cards per combat, not three cards per monster. Does this mean as soon as the card is drawn? If you draw a card, and it's Hoard! If you are dealt Hoard! What if I get Hoard! Draw three more face-up Treasures and discard Hoard! Distribute the now-larger Treasure pile according to the agreement you made with your helper.
What if I have to choose between cards and one of those is Hoard!? If a card makes you draw and choose between cards, and Hoard! Then play it immediately. If I play a card such as Wand of Dowsing that lets me put Hoard! It goes into your hand for a split second, then triggers the "play immediately" condition. Draw the three cards face down. Can a cleric use Hoard! Discard Hoard! AFTER the three cards are drawn. GREAT try, though!
Can a Wizard use his charm ability if he's not involved in the combat? The card says this is something he may do instead of fighting a monster.
It's not for interfering with others' fights, so the Wizard in question must be the munchkin who opened the door or the helper. If a Wizard is helping in a combat and charms a monster, does he get the Treasure from that monster? The Treasures gained from a charmed monster are no different from Treasures from a monster that is killed, so the Treasures drawn after the combat is over and all remaining monsters, if any, are defeated are distributed according to the final agreement that the Wizard negotiated for his help.
Faced with multiple monsters, can a Wizard discard his whole hand to charm one, take its treasure, discard that new hand to Charm the next one, and so on?
Faced with multiple hostile monsters, one does not get any of their treasures until all are defeated. The combat ended when you failed to kill it. What if a monster gets a Mate, or you get a Doppleganger, and then somebody backstabs you or plays potions on one side or the other?
Mate duplicates monster enhancers, not other types of cards. A Doppleganger is an exact duplicate of the player — essentially, figure his combat strength and then double it.
If the player's strength changes, so does the Doppleganger's. Somehow, I ended up with two Dopplegangers and played them both. Is my combat strength tripled or quadrupled? Each Doppleganger duplicates you and you alone, so your combat strength is tripled. Otherwise, you end up with Dopplegangers duplicating each other, which leads in four short steps to a spacetime implosion that ruins everyone's day. Is my Doppleganger a "helper" as defined in the rules?
Only other munchkins can be "helpers" in that sense. If you get rid of a monster, does its mate or, in the expansions, its relatives also leave? In other words, is Mate an enhancement card like Ancient or fully separate like Wandering Monster additions? A Mate is like a Wandering Monster. There are now two monsters, and you have to get rid of them individually. We have found that it is easiest to get rid of the Mate card so the actual monster is still there for reference.
If you play the get-rid-of-it card before somebody tries to play Mate , though, there's no monster left for the Mate to join, so Mate can't be played. What if the Gazebo appears as a Wandering Monster after the player already has a helper?
The helper has to back off and let the player whose turn it is fight the Gazebo , and the other monster s , alone. It's like it's not even there. The Stoned Golem makes a bad Wandering Monster because the victims can just ignore it, unless one of the combatants is a Halfling. But if you don't kill it, you don't get its level and Treasures, even if you do kill all remaining monsters!
And you can't go back for it after the main fight is through; it's Stoned, not stupid! Instant Wall allows one or two willing munchkins to Run Away automatically. Instant Wall should be used after the players have decided they need to Run Away but before they roll the die.
Are the Ghoulfiends supposed to be Undead? No, they're like that all the time. The Ghoulfiends card says only your Level counts in the fight, not your Items. Can you still use an item to avoid fighting entirely — say, the Magic Lamp? Can I use my Warrior Berserking ability against the Ghoulfiends? The Ghoulfiends text should say "No items or other bonuses help against them — fight with your Level only.
King Tut and the Wight Brothers say "Characters of higher Levels [than 3] lose two levels, even if they escape. But if you cannot defeat them, then you must try to run away, and you'll lose the two levels even if you do escape.
If they catch you, of course, you do suffer the Bad Stuff from those Monsters. But you don't lose the two levels twice! When does Magic Lamp let me keep the treasure? If you are fighting one monster, and use Magic Lamp on that single monster, you collect the treasures from that monster. If there are multiple monsters, and you use Magic Lamp to get rid of one of the monsters, you do not get any of the treasures from that monster even if you defeat the remaining ones you would still get the treasure from those monsters, though.
If I use Transferral Potion to steal someone else's fight, can I then use cards or abilities, such as Magic Lamp, that are usable only on my turn? It's not your turn. The card says the original player "resumes his turn," but that doesn't mean it isn't his turn at that moment, just that you've interrupted the sequence of events on his turn. Can I treat it like a one-shot play it from my hand rather than the table, or play it during combat?
The clear intent is that this is a one-shot card, even though it lacks the magical "Usable once only" language, and so the rules of one-shot cards apply to this one as well.
It can be played during combat, and it can be used from the hand. We've fixed this error in recent printings. I was beating a monster and one of my opponents played Wand of Dowsing and said I couldn't claim victory until she had searched the entire discard pile. It took her 20 minutes to decide! Is that really what "reasonable time" means? Not even a little. If your opponent knew there was a specific card she wanted to play against you, she should have told you as she went into the discards so you knew she wasn't just wasting time.
You would have been perfectly correct to call reasonable time if it was clear she was just searching for something to play against you. I'm a Cleric and I was fighting a monster. By the strict letter of the card, no; you actually have to pull out the card you want. You aren't required to play that card, however, so there's no guarantee your opponent would have put it in the discards immediately for you to grab.
However, in an informal game, especially where no one has a way to retrieve discards, it's perfectly fine to say "I'm going to grab and play a GUAL; anyone object if I just say I'm doing it to save some time?
I played Wand of Dowsing. An opponent played a Curse on me while I was going through the discards. Is it legal for me to grab a Wishing Ring to use to cancel the Curse, even if it wasn't the card I intended to pull? Playing Wand of Dowsing and pulling the card from the discard pile counts as a single action, so the effect of the Curse has to wait until you are done.
Even if you had said what card you were going for, you're allowed to change your mind until you actually complete the action. However, once you have pulled the card, the Curse happens — if you don't get a card that will let you cancel the Curse, you have to resolve the Curse's effects before playing the card you just pulled out of the discard pile.
I used an ability to automatically kill a monster. Another player used Wandering Monster to add a monster to the fight, and then played Transferral Potion to move the monster to himself. He beat it. Who gets the level and Treasures for the monster I killed? As of July , if you automatically killed the only monster, combat ended and this whole sequence can't happen.
If there were other monsters still fighting, however, this sequence is legal. You get the level and Treasures from the monster you killed after the transferred combat has been resolved. If the other player also wins, you draw Treasures first. This has been ruled different ways at different times, but we got a ruling directly from Steve, so it is official.
The Hireling confuses me. It's basically another Cheat! But it's vulnerable to the Kill the Hireling Go Up a Level card, and anything that makes you lose the Hireling takes the attached Item with it. Can an Orc use his power to remove a curse retroactively? What if he has a Chicken on his Head when he becomes an Orc — can he break the curse at that point?
If an Orc does not use his power at the moment he is hit with the Curse, it takes full effect, and he can't use his Orc ability to remove it later. Why doesn't an Orc get some kind of bonus for dealing with the 3, Orcs monster card? Rather than put a rule on a Race card that refers to a single monster card or rewrite a monster card to refer to a Race that isn't even in the same set, we decided that the monster orcs are just as hostile to a munchkin Orc as they are to any other munchkin.
What does "every other player" mean on the Generosity curse? It means every player who is not the victim. The intent is for the victim to give all of his stuff to all of the other players. The Lust Monster says ". Does this mean I cannot use cards on it like Out to Lunch?
Even though it says you must Run Away, it does not say you have to do so immediately. So while you cannot fight the monster, you can use other cards on it, and if you can remove the monster from the fight entirely, the restriction is also removed. As soon as Squidzilla appears, combat ends and you must try to Run Away immediately. Can you explain the Siege Engine to me? Can I play Annihilation to cancel a monster I just drew when I kicked open the door?
If so, what happens? Put the monster in the box and forget about it. However, because this was not a card played by an opponent, you do not get to cancel the monster or Kick Open another Door. And because the monster was in play, however briefly, you were in combat for that short time and therefore you cannot Look For Trouble or Loot The Room. I just killed a monster to reach Level My opponent played Trojan Horse and the Plutonium Dragon and said I couldn't level up and therefore win the game until I killed the Dragon.
Who's right? Congratulations on your victory! Trojan Horse cancels the Treasure but not the levels from one combat and immediately starts a new one. If the result of the first combat brought you to Level 10, the game is over and Trojan Horse can't be played. My opponent added a Wandering Monster. What happens if I Annihilate the monster? What about the Wandering Monster card itself? In both cases, the card you Annihilate goes into the box and is forgotten, and the other card goes back into your opponent's hand.
I played Curse! Cursed Thingy on an Item and we aren't sure how it works. Can I unequip the Item? What special abilities e. You cannot unequip the Item; it takes up a useful Item slot until you lift the Curse or contrive to get rid of it.
Here are some specific examples of effects that Cursed Thingy can have this is not a comprehensive list :. Does Curse! Tiny Hands prevent me from carrying an Item that requires 2 Hands, or just from equipping it? It prevents you from carrying it, just like the card says.
It also prevents you from equipping it, of course, unless you Cheat! How does the Casting Couch work? Casting Couch gives you the option to have all the benefits and penalties to being a Wizard along with any other Class es you might be. It is, in effect, an optional extra Class card. No matter what, you must decide whether you are using the Casting Couch at the start of combat i. If you do choose to use it, you are -1 to Run Away. How does the Stab-A-Matic work?
A Thief using the Stab-A-Matic gets a "bonus" to his backstabbing efforts, so each is good for a -3 penalty instead of the normal Convenient Handles lets me turn a Big item into a small item. So could a Thief put convenient handles on someone else's Big item, and then try to steal it? You can't play enhancers on other people's Items unless the card specifically says so. Do I immediately discard the second Steed? Is it killed? And if so, if it was the Tiger Steed, would it come back to my hand?
You'd have to lose a Steed because you're only allowed one. This would not be the kind of event that allows your Tiger Steed to be returned to your hand. Is there anything special I have to do for Steed Enhancers? Steed Enhancers work and are played just like Item Enhancers, except they can only be played on Steeds. Yes, it does. Not unless the card itself says you can. If I decide not to use a Steed, can I unequip it by turning the card sideways? Steeds cannot be unequipped at all and certainly not to play another one.
If, somehow, you find yourself with a Steed that you can't use but can't get rid of, it does count against your Big item total; you only get to ignore a Steed's Bigness when you're actually riding it.
What if I'm Level 9 and can't gain a level unless I kill a monster? And what if I'm using a special trick die so I'm guaranteed to roll a 6? Normally, using a trick die would be very much against the spirit of the rules, but the text on this card leaves that door wide open.
Do I get Treasures or levels when I tame a monster? You didn't kill it. If I'm fighting multiple monsters, when does the taming happen? It happens as soon as you discard to make it happen; your new Steed will help you against the other monsters. Munchkin Bites! Super Munchkin : Super Heros and comics in general. Munchkin: Impossible : Espionage and heist games.
Munchkin Cthulhu : Call of Cthulhu and its ilk. Munchkin Booty : Pirates. Munchkin Zombies : Zombie Apocalypse games. Munchkin Apocalypse : General Apocolypse games. Munchkin Legends : Mythology, mostly European.
Munchkin Starfinder : Based on Pathfinder 's science-fantasy sequel game. Munchkin: Warhammer 40, : riffs on the notoriously dark Warhammer 40, universe. John Kovalic : Yeah, if you think I was thrilled to draw an official, licensed version of Conan the Barbarian, you can probably quadruple that for sheer geek fanboy joy I got from drawing one of Sir Terry 's characters.
Post a Comment. Sunday, February 3, How it began Like I mentioned in my inaugural post, I received Munchkin the base set for Christmas. This set is all anyone really needs to experience the full effect of the game's clever mechanics and inspiring potential. The main 3 players in our home game are myself, my girlfriend, and our roommate. It took only one game for us to familiarize ourselves with the cards, structure, and game play.
That first game resulted in what I believe all game developers strive for, a sensation that perked our spirits due the fun we'd just had and excitement for what was to come. Otherwise you'll just confuse yourself. There is an expansion you can order now called Go Up A Level that has the updated class and race cards for all flavors of Munchkin, plus other cards that were changed. You can see those in the Change Log I'd personally suggest not using the new class abilities until you buy that, so you have the exact text on the card in front of you.
Last edited by Nerftw; at AM. Originally Posted by Nerftw. There is an expansion you can order now called Go Up A Level. Originally Posted by RevBob. Zane Munchkin NetRep -- munchkin sjgames. Last edited by MunchkinMan; at AM. Find More Posts by MunchkinMan. Thanks for the help. Clearly not broken now that I get it! I am a little bit curious about timing of the resolution.
Let's say a Treasure card A is played that allows a Treasure card to be drawn. A player discards Treasure card B from their hand to draw Treasure card C from the discard with the Cleric's ability.
0コメント